oops.

Proverbs 17: 27 & 28

27Wise are those who restrain their talking;
    people with understanding are coolheaded.
28 Fools who keep quiet are deemed wise;
    those who shut their lips are smart.

Do you ever talk too much? Say the wrong thing? Stick your foot in your mouth? I constantly find that if I try to respond back quickly to someone’s joke or teasing, I tend to say something that is ruder than what I would usually say.  Then I’m embarrassed, apologetic, and ashamed of how I made that person feel. If I wait and think my response through, then I’m usually nicer and sometimes can just skip a response after all. Taming your tongue is a very difficult thing. Read James 3:1-11, it shows us the importance of what we say and how we say it. If we make it a point to always speak kindness and love, then it becomes easier to train our brain away from saying evil things.

 

Leave a Reply

