Needs vs Wants

We are in the middle of the Season of Lent, so we will return to our study on Proverbs after Easter.

The second question to ponder this week is from a blog by Rachel Held Evans:

“What are some things in my life that I tell myself I need but I don’t? Can I give one or two of them up for 40 days?”

My husband and I are trying to sort out our needs versus our wants in our budget. This is our Lenten challenge. Our wants seem so necessary, yet we have to put them in perspective. Our God wants the best part of us and so often we give God the last part. The idea behind “giving something up for Lent” is to give it up so you can spend more time with God.

Scripture to ponder:

Deuteronomy 10:12

So now, O Israel, what does the Lord your God require of you? Only to fear the Lord your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul..

 

Leave a Reply

